Our Beginnings

After three years of Gippsland-wide consultation and groundwork, the Committee for Gippsland commenced in March 2011 and was officially launched in April 2011 by the then Victorian Deputy Premier, Hon Peter Ryan.

Established by passionate leaders with a shared vision to see Gippsland succeed and prosper, the Committee for Gippsland was established as a leading advocate for the businesses and communities of Gippsland.

The Committee for Gippsland is focused on making a positive contribution to Gippsland’s future.

Where we are today

The Committee for Gippsland membership has grown to over 80 members representing all geographic regions of Gippsland and industry sectors that operate at a local, state, national and international level.

Our membership includes small to medium businesses, sole trader businesses through to large ASX listed companies, community organisations and education providers in the region, ensuring a united voice for Gippsland.

We aim to facilitate discussion among our member organisations and develop strong lines of communication with government, as well as fostering solid commercial and industry connections.

Our Leadership


Rochelle WrigglesworthActing Chair2021
Jane OakleyCEO2019


Toni WakefieldChair2019 to 2020
Harry RijsChair2011 to 2018
Sophie MorellCEO2018 to 2019
Mary AldredInaugural CEO2011 to 2018